Final Event

POSTDOC | Best Paper Award

Friday May 13, 2022 from 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
TU/e, filmzaal, zwarte doos

Welcome to join us

Postdoc best paper Award | Final event

13 May 2022


TU/e, zwarte doos, filmzaal


Chaired by Dr. Barry W. Fitzgerald 

15h30 - Coffee & tea

16h00 - Welcome 

16h10 - Introduction of the Jury

  • Dr. Federica Eduati - Biomedical Engineering
  • Dr. Marta Costa Figueiredo - Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
  • Prof. Martijn Heck - Electrical Engineering
  • Dr. Mauro Salazar - Mechanical Engineering

16h15 - Pitches of the 10 finalists 

  • Leo Tiokhin -  Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences
    Competition for priority harms the reliability of science, but reforms can help      
  • Navchetan Awasthi - Biomedical Engineering
    Mini-COVIDNet: Efficient Lightweight Deep Neural Network for Ultrasound Based Point-of-Care Detection of COVID-19         
  • Feiran Zhang - Industrial Design
    Social sharing of task-related emotions in Design-Based Learning: Challenges and opportunities
  • Debargha Dey - Industrial Design
    Towards Scalable eHMIs: Designing for AV-VRU Communication Beyond One Pedestrian 
  • Shalika Walker - Built Environment
    Improving energy self-sufficiency of a renovated residential neighborhood with heat pumps by analyzing smart meter data       
  • Martijn Schoot Uiterkamp - Mathematics and Computer Science
    A Class of Convex Quadratic Nonseparable Resource Allocation Problems with Generalized Bound Constraints      
  • Roderick Tas - Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
    Small Peptide–Protein Interaction Pair for Genetically Encoded, Fixation Compatible Peptide-PAINT  
  • Tim Hogervorst - Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
    Single-molecule imaging of glycan–lectin interactions on cells with Glyco-PAINT      
  • Stein Stoter - Mechanical Engineering
    Discontinuous Galerkin methods through the lens of variational multiscale analysis         
  • Trung Tran - Electrical Engineering
    An average consensus-based power-sharing among VOC-based distributed generations in multi-bus islanded microgrids        

17h15 - Break for jury evaluation & celebration of PDA 2nd anniversary with small talks by:

  • Prof. Frank Baaijens - Rector Magnificus
  • Willem van Hoorn - PDA co-founder

17h45 - Announcements of the winners & prize ceremony

18h00 - Drinks  

19h00 - End of the event


TU/e Postdoc Association in close cooperation with TU/e institutes:

  • ICMS | Institute for Complex Molecular Systems
  • EAISI | Eindhoven AI Systems Institute
  • EIRES | Eindhoven Institute for Renewable Energy Systems
  • EHCI | Eindhoven Hendrik Casimir Institute

Postdoc Association

The TU/e Postdoc Association aims to provide a platform for postdocs at TU/e to network and get support specifically tailored to their needs.