G.J.F. (GertJan) van Heijst - Expertise

Heijst, G.J.F. van
Address :
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
P.O. Box 513
Department :
Department of Applied Physics
Section :
Turbulence and Vortex Dynamics
Positioncategory :
Professor (HGL)
Position :
Full Professor
Room :
CC 2.17
Tel :
+31 40-247 2722
Tel (internal) :
Email :

Share / Bookmark


  • D12200 - Theoretical physics, (quantum) mechanics
  • D12700 - Gases, fluid dynamics, plasma physics
  • D14500 - Chemical technology, process technology


Research profile

GertJan van Heijst is Full Professor in the Turbulence and Vortex Dynamics group at Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e). His research focuses on the stability of and interaction between vortexes, on the chaotic transport characteristics of vortexes and on two-dimensional turbulence.

Past and present research interests include vortices and turbulence in rotating and stratified flows, two-dimensional turbulence, dispersion in turbulent flows, and viscous mixing.  

Van Heijst also holds the position of Scientific Director at the JMBC, the Dutch research school for fluid mechanics.

Van Heijst is the former associate editor of Physics of Fluids and of Geophysical and Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics, and current co-editor-in-chief of the European Journal of Mechanics B/Fluids. He is member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (since 1997), member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences (since 2010), recipient of the Dutch Physica Award (2006), and he was elected fellow of EUROMECH in 2008.

He is member of the Congress Committee and the General Assembly of IUTAM.  

Academic background

GertJan van Heijst was appointed Full Professor in Fluid Dynamics at Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e) in 1990.  

Van Heijst has been one of the local directors of the J.M. Burgers Center, the national Dutch research school for fluid dynamics, since 1991. As of 2014, he holds a four-year position as Scientific Director at the JMBC.

Van Heijst was organizer of the 4th European Fluid Mechanics Conference, 2000. He is a former member of the EUROMECH conference committees of ETC (1997 – 2003) and EFMC (chair 2003 – 2008). He was elected as Council of EUROMECH 2010 and has been serving as its President since 2013.