Four organisational fields

The department of the Built Environment has four organisational fields, units. These units are comprised around the four research programs of the department. 

  1. Unit Architectural Urban Design and Engineering (AUDE), with the research program Living Cities.
  2. Unit Building Physics and Services (BPS), with he research program Building Physics and Services.
  3. Unit Structural Design (SD), with the research program Structural Design
  4. Unit Urban Systems and Real Estate (USRE), with the research program Design and Decision Support Systems

Also the Smart Cities Center is part of the department of the Built Environment. This center cooperates with other departments of TU/e, companies and government in so-called living lab environments.