Prof.dr. R.A. (Rutger) van Santen

Eindhoven University of Technology
Chemical Engineering and Chemistry
Molecular Heterogeneous Catalysis
P.O. Box 513
The Netherlands

Office: HeW 3.35
Telephone: +31 40 247 3082
Fax:+31 40 245 5054

Rutger van Santen is full professor in Catalysis. He received his Ph.D. from Leiden University in 1971 with prof. L.J. Oosterhoff as supervisor. In 1971/72 he was a postdoctoral fellow at SRI, Menlo, California in the Molecular Physics Department. Next he joined the Koninklijke/Shell Laboratorium Amsterdam where he had several functions in catalysis research. In 1982/84 he was assigned to Shell Development Company in Houston, Texas. In 1986 he was appointed part-time professor in Surface Chemistry at Eindhoven University of Technology followed by the appointment as Full Professor in Catalysis in 1988. His research interests are in the field of the molecular aspects of heterogeneous catalysis with the following three main themes: computational studies of surface-chemical reactivity, mechanism in heterogeneous catalysis and physical chemistry of catalyst synthesis. From 1990 until 2001 he was scientific director of the Schuit Institute of Catalysis in Eindhoven and from 1992 until 2000 the first scientific director of the Netherlands Graduate School of Catalysis Research NIOK. He is recipient of the gold medal of the Royal Dutch Chemical Society (1981), the Ciapetta Lectureship of the North American Catalysis Association (1991) and the Bourke lectureship of the Royal Society of Chemistry (1996), Spinoza award (1997, NWO) and the Alwin-Mittasch Medal (Dechema, 2001). In 2004 he was awarded Academy Professor of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences and Arts. In 2001 until 2005 he was chairman of the Royal Dutch Chemical Society and Arts and Rector Magnificus of the TU/e. In 2005 he became director of the Schuit Institute of Catalysis and scientific director of the National Research School Combination Catalysis Controlled by Chemical Design (NRSC-C). Since 2008 he is member of the Board of the Institute for Complex Molecular Systems. 

The full CV of Rutger van Santen can be found here.

Selected publications

  • E.G. Vrieling, Q. Sun, M. Tian, P.J. Kooyman, W.W.C. Gieskes, R.A. van Santen, N.A.J.M. Sommerdijk, Salinity-dependent diatom biosilicification implies an important role of external ionic strength, PNAS 104, No. 25, 10441-10446 (2007)
  •  L. Zhang, H.C.L. Abbenhuis, Q. Yang, Y-M. Wang, P.C.M.M. Magusin, B. Mezari, R.A. van Santen, C. Li, Mesoporous organic-inorganic hybrid materials built using polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane blocks, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 46, 5003-5006 (2007)
  • E.J.M. Hensen, E.A. Pidko, N. Rane, R.A. van Santen, Water-promoted hydrocarbon activation catalyzed by binuclear gallium sites in ZSM-5 zeolite, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 46,  7273-7276 (2007)
  • R.A. van Santen, Complementary Structure Sensitive and Insensitive Catalytic Relationships, Accounts of Chemical Research 42, 57-66 (2009)
  • S. Shetty, A.P.J. Jansen, R.A. van Santen, Direct versus hydrogen-assisted CO dissociation, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 131, 12874-12875 (2009)

A complete list of publications you will find here.