Assistant Professor

Bas Luttik

Department / Institute
Mathematics and Computer Science
EAISI Foundational


Bas Luttik is Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e). His main area of research is concurrency theory, in particular process algebra, providing a solid and well-understood mathematical foundation for methods and tools to verify system behavior.

His research focuses on unique parallel decomposition and finite basis problems in process algebra, and the integration of concurrency theory and classical automata theory. However, he is also interested in the application of process-algebra based formal methods to improve the quality of system requirements, most notably in the railway domain. His research on the integration of concurrency theory and classical automata theory has led to a theory of executability, based on Reactive Turing machines.


Bas Luttik received his MSc in Computer Science in 1996 and PhD in Computer Science in 2002 from the University of Amsterdam. The research for his PhD was done under supervision of Jan Friso Groote while I was employed at the Centrum for Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI) in Amsterdam. Before coming to Eindhoven University of Technology, he worked as a Postdoc at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. 

Bas is actively involved in projects to innovate education using digital technology. For his course on Logic and Set Theory he recorded over 50 video clips and set up an online course including extensive practice material. Master students can now successfully complete the course entirely by self-study. Furthermore, with funding from the TU/e innovation fund, he initiated a project to develop an online homologation recommendation tool to allow master students through digital tests to identify deficiencies in their bachelor background and present them a recommendation on how to repair those deficiencies (the project is ongoing). Bas also served on the programme committees of CONCUR, EXPRESS/SOS (co-chair in 2011, 2012, and 2013), TTCS, ICE, YR-CONCUR.