Honorary doctorates

Technische Hogeschool Eindhoven conferred its first honorary doctorate on Dr. ir. H. Kramers in 1976, on the occasion of the celebration of THE's 20th foundation day (the fourth lustrum).
From 1981 to 2005 honorary doctorates were conferred only during university lustrum celebrations, always three at each time. The TU/e Executive Board and the Doctorate Board have decided, however, that as of 2005 honorary doctorates are also to be conferred in the intermediate years in order to raise the academic stature of TU/e foundation day celebrations.
You can find an overview of the honorary doctors here.