prof.dr. E. (Ewold) Verhagen - Expertise

Verhagen, prof.dr. E.
Address :
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
P.O. Box 513
Chair :
Department :
Department of Applied Physics
Section :
Photonics and Semiconductor Nanophysics
Positioncategory :
Professor (HGL)
Position :
Full Professor
Room :
FLX 2.090
Tel :
+31 40-247 2146
Tel (internal) :
Email :


  • D12300 - Electromagnetism, optics, acoustics
  • nanophotonics
  • optomechanics



Ewold Verhagen is part-time professor of nano-optomechanics in the Photonics and Semiconductor Nanophysics group. He is also group leader at the AMOLF institute in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, working on optomechanics and nanophotonics.

Ewold Verhagen (1980) graduated from Utrecht University (2005) and performed his PhD research at  AMOLF, working on subwavelength light concentration, negative index metamaterials, and enhanced light-matter interactions in nanophotonic systems. For his cum laude PhD thesis (2009) he received the Dutch Physics Thesis Award and the FOM Valorization Chapter Award. From 2010, he worked as a Rubicon and Marie Curie postdoctoral fellow at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), studying the laser cooling and optical control of mechanical resonators in the regime where quantum mechanics dominates their behavior. As of 2013, he has been leading the Photonic Forces group within the Center for Nanophotonics at AMOLF. His group studies light-matter interactions at the nanoscale, with a particular focus on the coupling between photons and phonons in nano-optomechanical systems. His interests include the quantum measurement and control of mechanical motion, non-reciprocity induced by radiation pressure, plasmonic optomechanical sensors, hybrid optomechanical systems, and the physics of photonic and plasmonic resonators. He participates in several national and European academic consortia and public-private partnerships, and is a member of the board of NanoLabNL, a Dutch national facility providing open-access infrastructure for R&D in nanotechnology. He is recipient of an NWO Vidi grant (2014) and an ERC Starting Grant (2017).