Dr.ir. Tom de Greef wins prestigious CLP Prize Supramolecular Chemistry

Yesterday it was announced that Tom de Greef is the winner of the 2017 Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize in Supramolecular Chemistry. According to the ISMSC International Committee who annually awards the prize to an outstanding, early-career supramolecular chemist, there were very strong candidates this year but De Greef rose to the top. Tom de Greef is part of the department of Biomedical Engineering.

The Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize, named in honour of the winners of the 1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, recognizes significant, original and independent work in supramolecular chemistry. Those who are within 10 years of receiving their PhD are eligible for the award. The winner will receive a monetary honorarium, free registration for the ISMSC meeting and give a lecture at the meeting as well as two additionally research presentations in the country where the meeting is held.

Dr.ir. Tom de Greef

Dr.ir. Tom de Greef is specialized in synthetic biology and supramolecular chemistry. He is associate professor in the research group Computational Biology of prof.dr. Peter Hilbers of the department of Biomedical Engineering. He works in close collaboration with the research groups Chemical Biology and Biomedical Chemistry and is core member of the Institute for Complex Molecular Systems (ICMS).