18 first-year chemistry students win Encouragement Grant

Eighteen first-year students from the Chemical Engineering and Chemistry Bachelor's program received a grant worth 2017 euros on Friday October 6. These Encouragement Grants are awarded by the Chemical Engineering and Chemistry department of Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e) on the basis of the independent research at secondary school, extracurricular science activities followed and social activities.

The six girls and twelve boys that received the Encouragement Grant come mainly from The Netherlands. However, because the Chemical Engineering and Chemistry Bachelor's program is taught in English for the first time this academic year, also two international students received a grant. The grants are awarded for the fifth time. With this TU/e wants to emphasize there's great demand for graduated chemical engineers.

Since 2013 the department makes an amount available of 40,000 euros yearly. The grants are paid from the income generated by spin-off companies whose origins lie in the Chemical Engineering and Chemistry department (often set up by former students or PhDs) and fall under the Amandus H. Lundqvist Scholarship Program of TU/e.

Vera Buurman, Yris van Dam, Stacey Fun, Mark van Hemert, Frank van Hertrooij, Tobias Hilpert, Rick Jansen, Tom Janssen, Ruben Jetten, Limi Kalapurackal, Esmee de Korver, Stefan Maessen, Ruben Meijer, Dario Potalivo, Nard Schellekens, Cynthia Struijk, Steven van de Ven and Joris van der Zwaluw are the eighteen first-year students that received a check from Laurent Nelissen, managing director of the department. During the official grant award ceremony there was also a presentation from the succesful TU/e spin-off company TUSTI.