A.J.M. (Guus) Pemen - Expertise

Pemen, A.J.M.
Address :
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
P.O. Box 513
Chair :
Pulsed Power Technology
Department :
Department of Electrical Engineering
Section :
Electrical Energy Systems
Positioncategory :
Professor (HGL)
Position :
Full Professor
Room :
FLX 2.134
Tel :
+31 40-247 4492
Tel (internal) :
Email :

Share / Bookmark



Biography A.J.M. (Guus) Pemen was born in Breda, The Netherlands, in 1961. He received a B.Sc.-degree in Electrical Engineering in 1986, at the College of Higher Education (HTS) of Breda, The Netherlands, and a Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, in 2000.

From 1987 to 1991 he worked as researcher at TU/e on the properties of partial discharges in solid dielectrics and on high-voltage vacuum insulation systems. From 1991 to 1998 he worked for Kema, Arnhem, The Netherlands (now DNV GL), on methods for condition monitoring and asset management of high-voltage components. Since 1998 he works at the Electrical Energy Systems (EES) group of the Electrical Engineering department of TU/e. First as postdoc, in 2002 he became assistant professor, in 2011 he became associate professor and in 2017 he was appointed as full professor and chair of the EES group.

As chair of the Electrical Energy Systems group he leads research on smart grids, power grid components, power quality and EMC and pulsed power technology. His research on pulsed power technology focusses on advanced, repetitive, nanosecond pulsed power methods for the generation, characterization and utilization of atmospheric pressure, transient plasmas. His research includes pulsed power driven transient plasmas for air- and water purification, medical applications, plasma activated water and energy applications.

Prof. Pemen is member of the board of Dutch Power, member of the strategic advisory board of the topsector program Urban Energy, member of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society, member of Cigre, member of the International Bioelectrics Consortium and member of the International Society on Pulsed Power Applications.