Prof.dr. B. (Bert) Koopmans

Prof.dr. Bert Koopmans heads the group Physics of Nanostructures at the Eindhoven University of Technology. He is program director of the Program on Advanced NanoElectronic Devices within NanoNextNL, a national consortium for research on nanotechnology in The Netherlands, and member of the Board of NanoLabNL, a Dutch national facility providing an open-access infrastructure for R&D in nanotechnology. His expertise covers spintronics, organic electronics, nanomagnetism and ultrafast magnetization dynamics. He has personally acquired 12 Meuro research funds in national and international projects over the past ten years.

Since his graduation, Koopmans’ main research activities have been in non-linear optics (Fullerenes and magnetic multilayers), optics of semiconductor quantum structures, spintronics (including spin-transfer, domain wall devices and organic spintronics), nanomagnetism and ultrafast spin- & magnetization-dynamics. His main research achievements over the last 5 years are:
• Ultrafast magnetization dynamics – leading contributions to the fundamental understanding of ultrafast processes in ferromagnetic metals after heating by femtosecond laser pulses, as well as pioneering activities uniting spin transport and magnetization dynamics (Nature Materials 2007, Nature Physics 2008, Nature Materials 2010).
• Controlling domain wall motion in nanodevices – rooted in state-of-the-art facilities for UHV deposition, dual-beam nano-manipulation and magneto-optic characterization, recent focus has been on developing novel means to control domain wall motion in devices, e.g. by electric fields and electric currents (Nature Communications 2012, Nature Nanotechnology 2012, Nature Materials 2013).
• Organic spintronics – among the founders of the field of organic spintronics, with activities on organic spin valves, identifying microscopic mechanisms and device physics of intrinsic organic magnetoresetance effects, and nano/molecular engineering for novel device options (7 articles in Physical Review Letters since 2007).

Five key publications
1. P. P. J. Haazen, E. Murè, J. H. Franken, R. Lavrijsen, H. J. M. Swagten , and B. Koopmans, Domain wall depinning governed by the spin Hall effect, Nature Materials (2013), doi:10.1038/nmat3553
2. B. Koopmans, G. Malinowski, F. Dalla Longa, D. Steiauf, M. Faehnle, T. Roth, M. Cinchetti, and M. Aeschlimann, Explaining the paradoxical diversity of ultrafast laser-induced demagnetization, Nature Materials 9, 259 (2010)
3. G. Malinowski, F. Dalla Longa, J.H.H. Rietjens, P.V. Paluskar, R. Huijink, H.J.M. Swagen and B. Koopmans, Controlling speed and efficiency of ultrafast demagnitization by direct transfer of spin angular momentum, Nat. Phys. 4, 855 (2008)
4. P.A. Bobbert, T.D. Nguyen, B. Koopmans, and M. Wohlgenannt, Bipolaron Mechanism for Organic Magnetoresistance, Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 216801 (2007)
5. B. Koopmans, J.J.M. Ruigrok, F. Dalla Longa, and W.J.M. de Jonge, “Unifying ultrafast magnetization dynamics”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 95, 267207 (2005)