I. (Ines) Lopez Arteaga - Expertise

Lopez Arteaga, I.
Address :
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
P.O. Box 513
Chair :
Acoustic and Noise Control
Department :
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Section :
Dynamics and Control
Positioncategory :
Professor (HGL)
Position :
Full Professor
Room :
GEM-Z 0.134
Tel :
+31 40-247 2611
Tel (internal) :
Email :

Share / Bookmark


  • D14231 - Road vehicles, rail vehicles
  • Acoustics



Ines Lopez Arteaga is full-professor at the Dynamics and Control group of the Mechanical Engineering Department at Eindhoven University of Technology. She received her degree on Mechanical Engineering at the University of Navarra in San Sebastian (Spain) in 1993, where she obtained her PhD in January 1999 for her work titled "Theoretical and experimental analysis of ring-damped railway wheels". Until January 2001 she was researcher at CEIT (research institute in San Sebatian, Spain) where she mainly worked on noise and vibration reduction in railway applications. Then she moved to The Netherlands to work at DAF Trucks until January 2002 (noise analysis of cabin interiors using Statistical Energy Analysis, source localisation using Near-field Acoustic Holography) and later at INNAS BV (reduction of pressure pulsations from pumps). In September 2002 she joined the Dynamics and Control group of the Mechanical Engineering Department at Eindhoven University of Technology (The Netherlands) where she continued to work on Near-field Acoustic Holography and started the research on tyre/road noise at the group Dynamics and Control. From April 2011 to March 2014 she was visiting professor on vibro-acoustics of land transportation systems at the Marcus Wallenberg Laboratory for Sound and Vibration Research (MWL), KTH Royal Institute of Technology, where she was appointed full-professor in April 2014. At KTH, she was vice-director of the Odqvist Laboratory for Experimental Mechanics from 2013-2016. She has published a large number of papers in refereed journals and refereed conference proceedings. She is subject editor for the Journal of Sound and Vibration since 2011, member of the board of directors of the International Institute of Acoustics and Vibration (IIAV) 2013-2016 and board member of the Dutch Acoustic Society since 2014.