Multiphase & Reactive Flows

Your future

What do we do?

The Multiphase and Reactive Flows group was founded in 2016, and is in fact a merger of the groups Combustion Technology and Process Technology.  

Who are we?

The group leader of the MRF group is professor Niels Deen. In addition, professor Philip de Goey and professor Hans Kuerten work fulltime in the group. 



Professor Niels Deen

I am a full professor and head of the Multiphase and Reactive Flows group in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands. From 1998 until 2001 I did my PhD studies with Prof. B.H. Hjertager at the Aalborg University Esbjerg. From 2001 until 2010, I worked as an assistant professor at the University of Twente in The Netherlands. From 2010 until 2015, I worked as an associate professor in the Multiphase Reactors Group at the Eindhoven University of Technology in The Netherlands. In 2010 I received an Starting Grant from the European Research Council (ERC) to work on micro-structured bubble column reactors. My research is concerned with the development of computational and experimental techniques for the study of multiphase reactors. This includes multi-scale modeling of bubble column reactors and gas-liquid-solid contacting in (spout) fluidized beds.



Professor Philip de Goey

Philip de Goey studied Theoretical Physics at the Katholic University of Nijmegen. In 1988 he received his PhD at the Department of Physics of the TU/e on the thesis: 'Collision Phenomena in a Quantum Gas'. Between 1988 and 1995 he was Assistant Professor (UD) and from 1995-2000 he was Associate Professor (UHD) on combustion science in the Section Energy Technology at the Mechanical Engineering Department of the TU/e. Since 2000 he is Full Professor in Combustion Technology and since 2002 scientific director of the Combustion Technology Group. He is dean of the Department of Mechanical Engineering since may 2011.  He is also a member of the board of project leaders of  research schools JMBC and OSPT, member of the Board of Directors of the Combustion Institute (2004-to date), guest editor of Combustion Science and Technology (1998-1999), member of the editorial board of the Open Thermodynamics Journal (2007- to date), member of the editorial board of the Journal of Thermodynamics (2008-to date), associate editor of the Proceedings of the Combustion Institute (2008-2010), editor of the Proceedings of the Combustion Institure since 2010, member of SIG28 of ERCOFTAC (2003- to date), member of VDI-Gesellschaft Energietechnik GET (2003-to date), member of the scientific advisory committee of OWI Aachen Germany, chairman of the MTT thinktank, member of the scientific committee of approximately 10 international conferences, Coordinator and Colloquium Co-Chair of the colloquium on 'Laminar Flames' at the 31st and 32nd (Int.) Symposium on Combustion (Heidelberg, 2006 and Montreal 2008)  and (co-)author of more than 200 scientific publications. In 2010 he was awarded to be ‘Simon Stevin Meester’, this is the highest Dutch award in the area of technical sciences.



Professor Hans Kuerten

1978-1983: University of Utrecht, Theoretical Physics. Master Thesis: Elimination of fast variables from systems of differential equations. Supervisor: Prof.dr. N.G. van Kampen  1983-1987: Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Department of Technical Physics, Ph.D. position. Thesis: 3He-4He II mixtures:Thermodynamic and Hydrodynamic Properties. Supervisors: Prof.dr. H.M. Gijsman, Prof.dr. A.T.A.M. de Waele; 1985: three months sabbatical at Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA in the group of Prof.dr. J.T. Tough 1987-1998: University of Twente, Department of Applied Mathematics, Assistant Professor. Topics: Computational Fluid Dynamics, Turbulence, Numerical Methods 1995: three months sabbatical at Institute of Fluid Dynamics of Swiss Federal Institute for Technology (ETH) Zurich, Switzerland in the group of Prof.dr. L. Kleiser  From 1998: Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Associate Professor. Topics: Turbulence, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Two-phase flow

From 2010: Full Professor (0.2 f.t.e) Computational Multiscale Methods, Faculty EEMCS, University of Twente