Alumni association

Willem Einthoven

Willem Einthoven is the alumni association of the department of Biomedical Engineering (BME).


About us

The association is named after the Dutch scientist Willem Einthoven, who in 1924 became the first Dutchman to receive the Nobel Prize in Medicine for inventing the electrocardiograph (ECG). Our members are graduates from one of the (former) Master’s degree programs, and/or graduated PhD students, of the department of Biomedical Engineering.

Our alumni work in a wide variety of fields of expertise and companies, including industry, universities and hospitals. By building a network of BME alumni and organizing events, we provide a platform for our members to stay connected to each other and stay informed about developments in the field of biomedical engineering. In addition, we are actively involved in career development for the current generation of students of the department of BME. We work closely together with the department of Biomedical Engineering, and with Study Association Protagoras.


Members of the board

  • Sjoerd Opdam(chair)
  • Niels Dekkers (treasurer)
  • Ashley Heuijerjans (secretary)
  • Tom van Rooij (member)
  • Tilaï Rosalina (member)
  • Bettine van Willigen (member)

Join the alumni association

As an alumni student of Biomedical Engineering, you can join the alumni association Willem Einthoven for free through registration via Alumninet.

Contact us

Follow us